Off Site Activities

Explore the Waikato

There are many nearby places to have great Day Trips out from KCC:

Raglan Rock: www.raglanrock.com

CHALLENGE your mind and body as you rock climb in some of the most spectacular scenery in New Zealand. Tackle various limestone cliffs set in the heart of the Waikato. From the beginner climber through to advanced we will lead you on a unique and unforgettable adventure.

Email: gareth@raglanrock.com

0800 RAG ROCK or 022 645 3 545

Waikato Museum of Art & History: www.waikatomuseum.org.nz

An ideal place for learning and development. Educational tours etc

1 Grantham St, Hamilton

Exscite Science Centre: www.exscite.org.nz 

Hamiton’s own interactive science centre. It’s full of interactive, educational and entertaining exhibits.

07 838 6606

Hamilton Gardens: FREE: www.hamiltongardens.co.nz

Whether you want to stop in for an hour or a day, there is something for everyone at Hamilton Gardens. Explore the stunning Paradise Garden Collection, and visit Te Parapara – New Zealand’s first traditional Maori garden. Hamilton Guided tours can be pre booked

Cobham Drive, Hamilton

Hamilton Zoo & Free Flight Sanctuary: www.hamiltonzoo.co.nz

Over 52 acres landscaped grounds, Over 600 NZ & exotic animals, FreeFlight Sanctuary is largest walk through aviary in Australasia, Hamilton Zoo has qualified teaching staff on site who can tailor education units to curriculum needs.
Brymer Rd, Hamilton

Hamilton Astronomical Society: www.has.org.nz

Observatory, Brymer Rd, Hamilton

Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park: www.kiwihouse.org.nz

New Zealand’s largest private collection of native birds and the best place in NZ to see a Kiwi!

PO Box 222, Otorohanga.

Playground Events: www.playgroundevents.co.nz 

Paintball, Clay shooting and Karts

Te Uku, on the Main Road to Raglan from Hamilton

Waitomo Caves: 0800 caving 

Waitomo Glow-worm Caves www.waitomo.com

Enjoy the world famous boat ride under thousands of magical glowworms

0800 456 922

Black Water Rafting: www.waitomo.com

Cave Tubing/Rafting trips, Abseiling/rappelling option.
0800 228 464

Waingaro Hot Springs: www.waingarohotsprings.co.nz

3 hot-water pools. New Zealand’s longest hot-water slide, bumper boats, private spa pools, games room, TV, pool tables, trampolines, children’s play area, gas BBQs (under cover).

(07) 825 4761

Waterworld: www.hamiltonpools.co.nz

Heated Pools, Diving Pool, BBQ Areas

Garnet avenue, Te Rapa, Hamilton.

Extreme Edge Climbing Centre: www.extremeedge.co.nz

NZ highest rated climbing centre.

90 Greenwood St. Hamilton Ph (07) 847-5858

Hamilton Events: www.hamilton.events.co.nz

NZ Agricultural Fieldays, Balloons over Waikato, Sports events etc
For info on Hamilton & Waikato events

Hamilton City Council, Private Bag 3010, Hamilton or email events@hcc.govt.nz

Raglan: www.raglan.org.nz

42 kms from KCC. Surf Beaches & Harbour.

More Web Sites to check out:

www.visithamilton.co.nz

www.waikatonz.co.nz